UltravioletPhotography

Hello from São Paulo/Brazil

Adelson

My name is Adelson Corigliano. I am a newbie amateur photographer. It is a hobby since 2007.

Time means nothing, since i rarelly trained. In fact there are a few things that i really like in this area: Portraits, nature (macro photography) and hardware. Yes... Sensors, lenses, MTF graphs, specifications and so on.

Perhaps all this reflects what i did my entire life. I am a IT professional, a firmware programmer since 1990. In 1993 i studied Physical therapy, loved all basic disciplines like anatomy, physiology, cell biology, microbiology but i have never worked in the area.

I have begun interested in photography when it turned into digital, what i thought was a natural tool to document my live. In that time i collected crystals and found fascinating taking pictures of the entire collection. Lucky for me, the crystals are long gone but i have their images...

Someday i heard about "old" infrared films. Immediately I began curious and started my search in internet.

In that time there was not this quantity of specialized sites/forums.

But i never gave up, from time to time i searched USA stores that sells IR filters, and as stores do, they showed me related things, as ultraviolet filters..

OK, from this day on i became crazy about the idea of see what no human could see, documented it. Finnally, the photography made sense to me. However, were i live there is no support for this kind of picture. Besides, everything takes months to arrive. An example is my "UV equipment", that i bought piece by piece, since the beginning of this year - and is not completed! I have two broadband cameras, one D90 that was chosen as suggested by several posts i saw here and a 5Dmk2. I also bought a T3i (600d) and turned it into IR720 (Hoya R72), next week i will conclude another 600D changing the hot mirror by a piece of UG11, to be used with a 2mm S8612 in front of the lens.