UltravioletPhotography

Greetings!

cmoody

Hello all

I'm Chris, from the UK. I've not really got a "location" as my current job is with Sheffield university, though I live in Norfolk, and I am doing most of my work at museums around the country!

I've joined today as I have just started on a two-year project that includes photography of museum specimens in human-visible and bird-visible spectrums. I'm a keen photographer anyway, and so am really excited by the prospect of experimenting with UV photography, and am lucky enough to have access to a Nikon UV 105mm lens along with modified D7000 bodies and Baader filters for them.

I'm sure I'll have lots of questions in the coming months, and this website looks to be a great resource for techniques and information!

Kind regards

Chris

Welcome to our small yet growing UV community, Chris.

No question in the field of UV photography is too trivial so don't hesitate to ask for help if so is required and do share your experiences.

On a tangential note, I think the UVP community as a whole now has the highest density of available UV-Nikkors and other UV exotica seen anywhere in the world :)

Thanks you for the welcome.

One thing I found quite interesting a couple of weeks ago, when I was first starting out, was that *most* places on the internet refer to the UV-Nikkor 105mm as being discontinued, expensive, and rare as gold-dust. Then a few weeks ago we discovered it's actually still in production by Nikkons daughter company, Tochigi:

http://www.tochigi-nikon.co.jp/en/products/lens/uv.htm

It's still quite expensive however, at approximately £5000 in the UK!

I thought I would mention it here to help bump it in search engines, as some of the top google search results will tell you it hasn't been in production for many years, which apparently isn't true?!