UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Uppsala, Sweden

enricosavazzi

enricosavazzi

Hi,

I have been doing UV photography for quite a few years, and after several visits to this site I decided to become a member. I am very ignorant about botany, but I can probably contribute to equipment and methods discussions.

I brief, I have a past as a university resercher and teacher mainly in Germany, USA, Sweden and Japan, mostly in paleontology and marine biology, but for the last few years I have been working as a technical writer in IT and telecom. I am still publishing scientific papers as a hobby, but I do not plan to return to an academic employment. In fact, I count on retiring in about 4 years.

List of my scientific papers at savazzi.net/palaeobiology/pubblis.htm. A couple of them deal with photography. If you are interested in reprints of specific papers (not whole books), PM me. In most cases, I cannot make reprints publicly downloadable without passing through a login "barrier", but I am allowed to distribute them to colleagues, and I interpret this as including ultravioletphotography.com members. If you are a member at academia.edu or researchgate.net, which costs nothing, you can directly download reprints of most of my papers without asking, and also have access to potentially interesting papers by several other authors.

I do not make any money out of photography (except for publishing a book a few years ago). My web site (www.savazzi.net) has a disproportionately large section on photography, where I concentrate on methods and equipment, including UV photography but also many other things that caught my fancy. I don't have much time to do field photography, so I concentrate on studio techniques, and I write a lot about photography because it is easier than doing actual photography during my daily 5 hours commute.