UltravioletPhotography

Lenses' UV photography suitability

dunksargent

dunksargent

I am new to UV photography and await return of a G1 camera currently being converted to full spectrum before commencing UV experiments .

Regarding lens suitability: Is it possible to ascertain a lens' UV photo. suitability without using a camera by passing a UV light through it (UV torch) and measuring wavelength emitted with a UV meter ?

If so, can anyone recommend a suitable UV light meter and UV torch?

Thanks

dunk

We note in the Lens Sticky that lenses good for UV typically have few elements and no coatings. (Dedicated UV lenses may vary from this, of course, because of use of quartz or fluoride elements.)

It is possible that you might get some idea of a lens suitability for UV photography by shining a UV torch through it and measuring what wavelength or how much is emitted. UV torches themselves vary a lot in bandwidth and efficacy, so that might be a problem. I think you would want to test with something like a high-power Nichia 365nm UV-LED. Not all Nichias are the same.

For the record, I've never tried this myself so I'm not really providing a thorough answer to your question - only suggesting to choose the torch with care if you try this. :unsure:

• 2 months later...

let me quickly bump up this topic (instead of opening a new one with quite the same question)

So I really wonder how do you test a lens for UV suitability. I am having a method on my own but I am quite sure it's not the possible best :D