UltravioletPhotography

Another Allamanda flower with a Violet Blue Cyan Green filter about 380nm to 530nm.

colinbm

Another Allamanda flower with a Violet Blue Cyan Green filter about 380nm to 530nm.

For those interested, I have uploaded this file .X3F to DropBox, it is free. It is about 10mb.

https://www.dropbox....20380-530nm.X3F

It is a Sigma .x3f file from a Sigma DP1 compact camera. Because it is an original (older) Sigma compact some propriety photo editor programs will open it, BUT it is best to open it with the Sigma Photo Pro RAW converter, convert it to a .tiff file & work it that way. I am a novice at PP & only use Sigma Photo Pro, I have next to no experience with the other editors.

Windows & Mac versions.....

http://www.sigma-dp1.com/software/spp/

Straight out of Sigma DP1 full spectrum camera, with about a 380-530nm filter .JPG

This is a astro 1.25inch filter so it is a circle on the sensor.

Please excuse my hairy arms & legs, it is high summer in Queensland :)

post-31-0-99824900-1386996972.jpg

Good luck & please share your results.

Cheers

Col

Col - The link seems to be for the previous photo and not this new one.

Who makes this filter ?

Sorry about the link........I have replaced it & it seems OK now.

The filter was from Omega Optics, a 25mm off eBay :D

Cheers

Col

PS I could start some discussion & suggest that this maybe close to Bee vision ??

Col

Well, Col, I don't know about the bee vision thing. Given bees' trichromatic vision with peaks at UV/345nm, B/440nm and G/535nm, which part of that photo would you assign to UV ?

From the reference below (and others), we know that a flower which is visibly yellow-ish and also UV-reflective, such as your Allamanda on its petals, is seen by the Bee as a nameless colour designated as "UV-green". How that might be represented in fotos is open to discussion. There seem to be many interpretations of "Bee Vision". Look at some of Nico's work here on UVP, for example.