UltravioletPhotography

UV Allamanda Flower in Sunlight with AstroDon UVenus filter

colinbm

Hi Everyone

I have uploaded this file to DropBox, it is free. It is about 10mb.

https://www.dropbox....%20Sunlight.X3F

It is a Sigma .x3f file from a Sigma DP1 compact camera. Because it is an original (older) Sigma compact some propriety photo editor programs will open it, BUT it is best to open it with the Sigma Photo Pro RAW converter, convert it to a .tiff file & work it that way. I am a novice at PP & only use Sigma Photo Pro, I have next to no experience with the other editors.

Windows & Mac versions.....

http://www.sigma-dp1.com/software/spp/

I have some differently processed versions here too...

I haven't cropped these, to show the issues I having with this camera with a wide lens & the 1.25inch AstroDon UVenus.

The Sigma DP2 that I killed :lol: has a narrower field of view & I didn't have the reflection issues. I am looking for another DP2 to replace mine.

Mono conversion

post-31-0-78204000-1386059896.jpg

Blue / Black conversion

post-31-0-47912800-1386059957.jpg

Custom WB

post-31-0-44546700-1386060123.jpg

Straight jpg covversion

post-31-0-03673400-1386060243.jpg

Good luck & please share your results.

Cheers

Col

PS IMHO I strongly feel the pink / magenta cast is an artefact response of over-exposure, as the blue in it is clipped.

Col

Col - Thank you so much for the raw file drop !!

Looking at the jpgs briefly that you posted, I note that the DP1 is creating some ring artifacts. This is from internal reflections off of something - inside of the lens?. I've seen this on occasion with one of my lenses. I don't know whether the ring "contamination" is from Visible, UV or IR light? (If that Astrodon UV-Pass leaks IR, then IR contamination is possible. The rings do appear lighter.)