UltravioletPhotography

What would be the best choice for shooting in UVC 200-300nm range?

gavin1911

Hi folks, I am new to ultraviolet photography and I appreciate your inputs and thoughts. I am searching for a digital camera, filters, and a LED light source that together are good for UVC 200-300nm. The camera could be a converted DSLR or anything else that has more than 1 Mega-pixel.

:)

Andy Perrin

You are asking the impossible (or very nearly). Nobody here shoots UVC. It is also SUPER DANGEROUS. Even getting to UVB is difficult with our equipment. Nearly every single obstacle is stacked against you: the lens will not transmit unless it is quartz ($$$), the camera cannot be a consumer camera because they have no sensitivity to UVC (and very little to UVB without debayering in some cases). Most UVC filters have very low transmission and you need to block out of band light very well or you would have contamination.

I believe there are some companies that make UVC cameras but you can expect to pay tens of thousands of dollars or the equivalent.

Basically what Andy said.

There is a work around depending on what you want to image. You can make or buy a phosphorus screen that converts the lower uvc to higher Uva or visible for detection.

Thats what the cheaper $5000 cameras do.

If your into Diy, you could build a scan back type camera using a spectrometer sensor. You can get the sensors cheapish off ebay and follow the design that people have done with scanners to large format cameras. But you will need to use nothing but fused silica.

There are 260nm and 280nm Leds you can find off ebay or Alibaba as well. But very expensive. You can use the 254nm very low mercury bulbs to get something. But UVC isn't really about imaging more about detection.

As most things will be black down there. Protein absorb at 280nm, DNA at 260nm and peptide backbones absorb at 230nm. So don't expect to see much but black.

It does come back to what do you want to photograph?