UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Baltimore! (Maryland, USA)

DanK

Greetings, all. I'm told I should introduce myself in this forum, so I shall.

I'm an amateur photographer just getting into IR work (for myself) and UV work (for work). I work at a major university here, and I'm interested applications of nontraditional photography in health & safety.

My first project started a few weeks ago, when it occurred to me that many chemicals either fluoresce or absorb strongly in the UV region. Gee, I wonder if we can use UV photography to identify contamination in laboratories? Even well-kept labs are subject to spills, splatters, and other messes that don't get cleaned up effectively. If we can see the location of the contamination, we can work on removing it (or at least immobilizing it so it doesn't get tracked everywhere). I've had luck finding spills of DNA stains using a simple 395nm UV inspection flashlight, so I'm wondering what results I might get from a more professional approach.

So I'm looking at uses of ultraviolet photography that are quite different from much of the work people do here; probably closer to forensic work and photodocumentation. (Not that I won't take a few outings to do some landscape and botanical work for practice with the equipment!) I hope that with a little work, I'll be able to contribute to the knowledge base here.

I've sourced a Nikon Z6 modified for full-spectrum operation and an older Nikon 50mm lens that's known to pass UV well (checked that with a UV laser). I'm now trying to select filters for UV reflectance and induced fluorescence, both for the camera and for my UV light sources (xenon flash and a couple UV flashlights of differing wavelengths). Any suggestions the community could offer would be welcome.

Anyway, that's the long version of an introduction.

Regards,

Dan Kuespert