UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Minnesota - Interested in UV-induced fluorescence and IR Photography, Equipment Recommendations?

cdhgamer

Hello all!

My name is Todd Farnham, and I'm a photographer normally focused on wildlife, landscape, concert, and astrophotography.

I was drawn to UV-induced fluorescence photography by the photography of Don Komarechka after watching an interview about his snowflake photography in which he also explained some of his UVIVF process. Don modifies his speedlights to produce non-visible UV light, but it is a costly and dangerous endeavor if you don't know what you're doing. While exploring the internet for more info, I came across this site and learned that costs can be reduced by using longer exposures and UV flashlights with filters.

I'm curious about what gear might be recommended for starting out in this field of photography. I know that the Convoy S2+ 365nm Nichia UV LED is used by many and relatively cheap but I also see that the shipping time for one from Gearbest is 15-30 business days. Are there any models or stores that might have a faster shipping time, or would that likely be my only option at a more reasonable price range?

What filters then, would be good for cutting visible light on the flashlight? I've read of some options on the forums, but I'm curious what might be my best value in a cost/benefit analysis, considering it seems like different brands and models vary in effectiveness.

I am also interested in IR photography, but in a couple different styles. I'm very drawn to IR photography using blue skies and white foliage, as well as aerochrome style photos, that utilize blue, white, and pink. As an astrophotographer, I'm also drawn to the possibilities of filtering for astro as well.