UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Canada

LC2

Hello! Glad to be here :)

I work as a forensic image analyst for a police service in Ontario, Canada. Part of my duties includes researching and teaching forensic photographic techniques. A couple years ago, I was tasked with procuring a camera system capable of photographing both the UV and IR spectrums. I put together a good camera kit for our forensic unit: a Nikon D7100 converted to full spectrum, Jenoptik UV-VIS-IR 60mm APO macro lens, Baader U-Filter and a couple IR pass filters. However I've been having trouble with the UV spectrum (specifically, light sources and and ideal (forensic) subject matter for reflected UV). I am hoping you guys will be able to help me, as you all seem incredibly knowledgeable!

I have been doing some testing, and I would like to get your thoughts... apologies in advance if I should be posting my question in a different thread... I am very new to forums.

What's puzzling me is the different results I am getting with a LED light source (PowerTac NH375, rated at 365nm) versus a regular (UV filter not removed) speedlight (Nikon SB-910). My test subject was a piece of paper that I had written on with a variety of pen ink brands/types/colours. With the speedlight as my light source, some of the inks disappear. But with the LED torch, the inks did not change... I would expect the LED torch to produce better results than the speedlight (and when I say better, I just mean I would like to see visible changes amongst the different inks, like I did with the speedlight, but even more pronounced).

I plan to try out our Polilight 400 (forensic light source, 400 watt metal halide lamp - the UV output is 350nm, 80nm bandwidth), but I haven't had a chance yet...

Thank you in advance!

Lieah.

Hi! Nice to meet you! It sounds like you have a fantastic setup. I wish I had the money for a Jenoptik.