UltravioletPhotography

Hello from the UK

craigg

HI There

My name is Craig. I've just had my old Nikon D3100 DSLR converted to Full Spectrum.

I'm a paranormal investigator and wanted to use the camera for 2 purposes :

1. To take photos with my IR lighting of alleged haunted locations.

2. To take UV photos of alleged haunted properties and landscapes, as the UV photos look very atmospheric.

My first problem has been finding somewhere to purchase a UV bandpass filter 52mm. Anyone got any recommendations? Kolari is out of stock...

Also any recommendations for resources on 'how to' as I'm a total beginner to this world!

All the best

Craig

Welcome to the UVP community.

Our members should be able to provide lots of practical advice on the shooting side of the affair. Not sure about the paranormal aspects, though.

You might want to look into some of the more general oversights first. Your camera is very similar to the D3200 used by several members, yours truly inclusive.

Hi Craig and Welcome to UVP!

It would be very cool to see some of your paranormal work. So I hope you'll post something. Sure, some of us may be skeptics, but such investigations are always interesting.

The Kolari UV bandpass filter is very good, but does have a lower transmission rate. So I recommend that you look at two places (in alphabetical order): Uviroptics (reputable Ebay filter glass vendor) and UVR Optics (reputable website for dichroic UV-bandpass filters). The only other possibility besides those two is the BaaderU UV-bandpass filter which is quite expensive. We currently cannot recommend other Ebay vendors of ZBW glass because of its dubious quality.

More about filters here:

Sticky :: UV/Vis/IR Filters

And also click the search tag Filters.

Because there is no UV light at night you are probably going to need a UV-flashlight of some type.

Click the UV Lighting search tag to find out more about UV flashlights/flashes.