UltravioletPhotography

Practical question - bee vision

Jim Lloyd

I was trying yesterday to make my first "bee vision" image. I know there is a lot to discuss about what this really means, but I was just wanting to play around. As I understand the method in simple terms (I think I read Bjorn's post about this here somewhere), you put the monochrome UV image into the blue channel, the visible blue channel into the green channel and the visible green into the red. My question is a simple practical one - how do you actually do that in photoshop? I couldn't work out how to convert an image layer into a channel in a new image. I thought there was a simple way to do that, but couldn't find that. Any tips? Thanks.

Thanks Andrea! - that tutorial is so helpful!

This is my first attempt with Dandelion. I can see that I have slight misalignment between visible and UV. There is a LOT to read and think about here! - this is just my first quick stab at it!

post-175-0-75929400-1524935260.jpg

You can move one layer around over another and shrink/expand edges/corners with the Image Transform tools. Sometimes this gives a better fit if there was some misalignment between the Vis and the UV shot. And I think there are more advanced methods for fitting one object over its other version, but I only have the little Photoshop Elements not the big CS version.

I always have mixed feelings about magenta showing up in bee vision emulations. A Dandelion's yellow-reflecting, UV-absorbing center most likely appears green or yellow-green to a Bee. You might enjoy working with one of the UV+Blue+Green filters. But I digress..... :D

Hi Andrea - I agree about the magenta - doesn't quite feel right to me (just a gut feeling, I need to study this properly and read all the excellent information on this site)

Using the other method that Nico mentions - simply swapping UV for the visible red channel feels better to me:

post-175-0-93301200-1524944437.jpg