UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Germany

Oliver Krohn

Hello,

I am from Duesseldorf area, Germany. My interest in UV photography is both, professional and private. I work as a BTA in an institute (biology, sensory ecology) at the university of Duesseldorf and since we have a focus on pollination, we use UV photography for quite a long time, as well as spectroscopy (reflectance) and thermography. Before, I worked in ecophysiology (tuna breeding) as well as in cell culture / molecular biology (hairy root cultures of Linum spec.) and molecular biotechnology (pharmaceutical antibodies cloned into plants, Fraunhofer Institute / RWTH Aachen).

Since I have several interests, I spend a lot of my spare-time with very different projects, from manipulating Jura coffeemakers with microcontrollers to growing oyster mushrooms and making fruit wine and more. I was thinking about modifying my own camera (GH3) for years, but never did it so far. Yesterday, finally, I ordered a helicoid and some adapters as well as an enlarger lens (Rodenstock Trinar 75/4,5, simply because it was available for a few bucks only). What I need next, are various filters (UV bandpass, UV/IR cut, IR bandpass etc.) and a good 365 nm flashlight, equipped with filter (ZWB1?). I am still studying flashlights, since it's not easy to find a good and cheap one with an wide even spot without spill. But I am sure there is a hint / recommendation somewhere in this forum. Found out, that there are programmable microcontrollers on the driver boards of flashlights, since I wanted to repair an old (but good) one and would have needed to get rid of the modes of the available cheap China driver boards. In the end I decided to simply buy a new one. Anyway, the thrilling part will be the modification of the camera. I found the technical manual and a tutorial for the conversion of a G3, which should help. I am not yet sure, if I should buy a second body for modification or not.