UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from North East England

Jim Lloyd

Hi all,

Just writing to introduce myself to the group.

Firstly, thank you for accepting me as a member. I have found the information on the site extremely helpful so far.

I am a physicist by training and have worked for many years as a Medical Physicist in the UK National Health Service. My professional areas of interest are in medical imaging and in the medical uses of UV radiation.

A list of publications are here. In the UV field my chief input has been in accurate spectral irradiance measurement which is particularly critical in medical applications due to the extreme variation in skin sensitivity with wavelength. I am not directly involved in this at the moment but do have access to Bentham double diffraction grating spectroradiometer and other equipment.

However, my interest in this site has actually comes from another direction since I have taken partial early retirement in order to pursue an interest in art. I have recently completed a masters degree in fine art at Newcastle University. For this I concentrated largely on video and photography. My art website is here . My artistic interests are to do with how we understand the natural world and how our understanding might differ from that of animals. It was the realization that birds can see UV that particularly prompted my interest in UV photography. If I was speaking now as a scientist I would be able to articulate my aims, but with an artists hat on to be honest I am not sure exactly where this is heading. The idea is something like "how birds see than landscape" with a big dose of artistic licence rather than a scientifically accurate description.

Anyway I am only just getting started.