UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Germany

Tsubo

Hi everyone,

my name is Lucas, I am 26 years old and a hobby stills photographer for probably 10 years now. My special interests are product photography but also macro, micro and of course UV as of late.

Since I am a total beginner in UVP I have already spent quite a while researching the techniques and elementary prerequisite on the internet. Meanwhile I feel like I am ready for participating in an open discourse and sharing some thoughts about the subject.

At the moment the whole project is still in the planning phase. However, I have already tracked a few old lenses on eBay and could not resist on some cheaper Steinheils. Since they mostly cost only about 20 Euros a piece I thought I could give them a try:

• Ennalyt 35mm f3.5
  • Cassar 50mm f3.5
  • MC Macro - Ennalyt 35mm f2.8
  • Edixa Cassaron 50mm f2.8

I also found a Weltblick 55mm f2.8 in good condiciton which made me curious and maybe plan to add a Noflexar 35mm macro lens for closer ranges. The adapter I ordered is an M42 helicoid by Kecay which will hopefully allow me some further flexibility when catching smaller subjects.

Speaking of subjects, I generally plan to start with plants and use some flashes to ensure a good amount of exposure. Based on my research up to now I might end up with a dual flash configuration consisting of some modified Canon 199As fixed via magic arms on a macro rail. For the full gain of light I could add some smaller silver reflectors. Since my camera does not offer a sync port I may also need some optical slave triggers.

Finally coming to the root of the matter, the camera is an Olympus Pen E-P5 which I plan to convert to a broadband camera myself. Since I am DIY guy and work quite a lot with electronics, I think I should be able to manage the process. However, if you got any tips and tricks on modding mirrorless cameras, please let me know :)