UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Argentina!

Vagabond

Hello everyone!

My name is Nicola and I am a junior herpetologist currently working in Argentina!

I am an amateur macro photographer (just in the "visible" range of the spectrum) and lately I have been approaching UV photography for academic reasons, though I would like to include it in my free time one day (I don't have enough money at the moment).

I am currently looking for equipment to take UV pictures and I have read the guides available here in ultravioletphotography which have proven to be really helpful. I will be asking soon for further opinions, especially on UV sensible cameras.

Unfortunately, I am not permitted to share the pictures that I have taken so far (I used an unmodified Nikon D70 borrowed from an acquaintance to take pictures of my study species) as they formally belong to my laboratory. Nevertheless, in a while I will be able to take the equipment to the field and I will surely be posting some of the pictures.

I thank you all and well, talk to you very very soon :-)

Nicola

Hello Nicola, and Welcome to UVP! I'm happy to hear that our guides have been useful to you. Our members have made full spectrum conversions of every major camera brand, so you can choose almost any mirrorless or DSLR for conversion and make good use of it for UV photography. Use the UV Camera search tag to see posts about converted cameras.

We would certainly enjoy having some amphibian or reptile photos added here from your field trips. We only have 3 currently (frog, anole and gecko) in our UV Fauna section. This summer at our vacation house I regularly saw a nice garter snake (Thamnophis) but I could not even get a Visible photo of this guy -- he was just too quick to move away no matter how quietly I tried to sneak up on him (or her?). Perhaps he did not want any publicity?! :D

Thank you very much Andrea for the welcome and the guidance!