UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from Holland

DeerCrow

Hello everybody!

Thanks for having me as a member! I am a portrait painter from The Netherlands. I stumbled upon the right camera (for me!) 2 years ago and fell in love with photography. On my instagram account you can take a look at my photography (regular and infrared) and also a few paintings: https://www.instagram.com/laura.caris/

In the summer of 2016 I fell really ill. At the time I was taking my first steps in infrared. When your health is at stake and you become aware of the possibility of death, you begin to see the world with different eyes. IR and UV photography literaly and figuratively resonates with that idea. Aside from the esthetic possibilities the idea appealed to me to capture what we can not see, to 'look with different eyes', to 'shed a different light' on our reality. I loved it, and I still love it.

The last six months I faced a rather brutal chemo and could not paint or shoot at alll. Right now I still have some scans and tests ahead of me, but my docter is optimistic and it seems I may get a second chance. Recovering will take at least a year. I will have to take it very slow but I can actually do some things again!

I am starting from scratch in UV so my first goal is to find a lens and filter setup to start with!

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge and experience, I am looking forward to this journey very much and hope I can show you my first UV-results very soon!

(Please forgive me when I might come across as a little slow or ask for the obvious, my brain is not as sharp as it was before chemo)

Kind regards from The Netherlands!!

Laura

post-153-0-72421200-1498040084.jpg

Hello Laura and a Big Welcome to UVP.

And thank you for the lovely photo of this happy dog running across the beach. :)