UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Fairbanks, Alaska

otoien

Hi, my name is Øivind Tøien and I am a Norwegian physiologist living in Fairbanks, Alaska, with lifelong interest in photography, especially in relation to the natural environment. I have been into near visible reflected IR photography since 2012 and have been checking in on this forum from time to time for several years, but did not feel that I could contribute enough to apply for membership. I very recently took the steps to explore UV-induced visual fluorescence with some help from members at NikonGear and information found on this site. So I thought it is time to take on an active role, although with no current plans to start out with reflected UV photography. I have been very impressed by images of members on this site and especially in the UVIVF section - so it was hard to resist not trying it for myself. Although I am a scientist my interests here are leaning more towards creative exploration as I am getting enough scientific challenges in my work.

This is among my very first results; UV pass filter for the UV LED flashlight has not arrived yet so no claims of pure fluorescence are made for these. A Nikon L-39 filter was used on the 55mm f/3.5 Micro-Nikkor lens. The flower at the top has light blue petals in visible light, the one on the bottom has blue petals.

2017-06-17-0056E-4664-md.jpg.67411b677460ab2a271e0add1e5a47bd.jpg

2017-06-17-0030E-4649-md.jpg.699cf00decbd481f0fd71f820f895922.jpg

(These were recently posted on Nikongear and is linked from my website; please bear over with me if I have not adapted to size guidelines of this forum yet)

Most welcome on board, Øivind. Nice to have a fellow Norwegian here, ex-pat or not :D