UltravioletPhotography

Greetings from France!

Hornblende

Hi everyone!

It is a great joy to be here :)

I am a french student in geology at the Ottawa university, next week I start a master study about gold deposits in Peru.

I am also a gemologist, I am passionated by gemstones since my youth.

Regarding photography I am mainly interested by imaging atmospherical phenomenon such as sundogs, sun halos, rainbows and other oddities. I am also interested in astrophotography, the Sun in particular, I have a dedicated Lunt solar refractor for viewing the solar disc in the h-alpha band. If you are wondering what my profile picture might be, it is the sun in ultraviolet (Calcium H line) I took with an homemade spectroheliograph.

I have been introduced to IR photography by chance while looking for photography tutorials on Youtube. It amazed me at the point I NEEDED an IR camera to explore the invisible world I couldn't see (dark clothes and leaves turning white, seeing through wine, awesome). Subsequently I learned about ultraviolet photography thanks to this forum and Dr Klaus Schmitt's blog. But being short on money I had to wait until I could get all the gears I needed.

In the meantime I got a project in mind : could I use multispectral imaging to identify gemstones and detect fakes/treatments?

I have no clues if it might work but I believe I should be able to identify gemstones by there appearence resulting from multispectral imaging. I made some tests in 850nm IR and got surprising results I did not expected (dark green tourmaline getting clear as glass, pale green/yellow peridot getting dark, turquoise getting completly black...). I think I got something here, I should get some nice results in the future :)

For now I use my astro-camera Zwo ASI-120MMs with a CCTV lens, a 850nm filter and the Baader U filter. Unfortunately I get pretty bad results in UV because the CCTV lens has a very bad UV transmission.