UltravioletPhotography

Hi from 52°39'6" N 4°50'9" E

Herman1705

Hi all, my name is Herman. I live in Heerhugowaard, the Netherlands. I'm an engineer in applied physics (BSc) and work as radiation protection expert in the north west of the Netherlands. A few years ago I started making infrared images with my D7000 (HOYA R72 filter) and later on with my D750 (HOYA R72 and Travor 850nm). This year I got a second hand Sony A500 and had it converted to full spectrum by ACS in the UK. With help of this forum and Ebay I bought an Enna München Lithagon 35mm 1:3.5 and also found good information on filters for UV images. After calculating the transmissions for UV and the IR leak I bought HOYA U340 (2 x 1mm) and Schott BG40 (2mm) filters. The supplier of the BG40 attached a UG11 to it (for free). So I now can compare the U340 and the UG11; there is a lot more green with the UG11. However, I doubt the quality of the UG11 (is it fake or not?), after white balancing I get almost 'normal' coloured VIS images. When you search Flickr for Herman1705 you can find my UV/VIS/IR images.

Herman

post-132-0-39075200-1476221671.jpg

post-132-0-11827000-1476221675.jpg

post-132-0-13171500-1476221678.jpg

Welcome to UVP. I am sure your questions will be answered by our competent members.

Have you tried the "standard" UV bandpass filter, the Baader U?

PS: Google Maps indeed confirms you live in Heerhugowaard - been to the Netherlands many times but haven't visited that part of the country yet DS

Hello - and welcome to UVP.

I'm so happy to hear that you have found our quiet little forum useful in starting your UV journey. :)

About your two filters, the Hoya U-340 and the Schott UG11: both filters dually transmit both UV and IR and thus must be IR-blocked to use successfully for UV photography. Obviously you are aware of this since you have purchased a BG40. :D