UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Singapore

BruceG

Hi all,

Bruce from Singapore here, I'm a film student and have strong passion in photography. I have my J5 mirrorless converted to full spectrum and did some IR, then I decided to explore UV and and found out about UVP and have since spent time reading the posts and learning. UV is so much harder than IR but can be more rewarding at the same time. I think there is great potential for both technique to be used for creative effect in filmmaking, I'm especially intrigued by how UV portrays human subject and landscape.

I'm really glad to become a member and hope to contribute to the discussions soon as I get better.

Some questions I have:

Black clothes sometimes looks purple under full spectrum, is it due to UV? Is there a quick way to test a camera's UV pick up?

Has anyone had experience with Sigma/Ricoh C mount 25 f2.8 UV lens? It's field fits Nikon 1 sensor just nice and I'm thinking of getting one.

Thank you!

Welcome to us on UVP ... I'm certain this will be of dual benefit to all parties.

As to your lens, industrial optics tend to be designed for a narrow wavelength range and if used outside that range, lots of chromatic aberrations and other optical artefacts can occur. I looked through the specification on the Ricoh site and it apparently is a candidate for UV work if you fit a proper UV bandpass filter over it. Do remember the need for efficient IR blocking if you wish to do pure UV. The small filter size might necessitate using step rings, though, always a hassle and something prone to get stuck in the threads if you use more than one size to arrive at the final filter threads.

Anyway, do keep us informed on any progress and don't hesitate to ask questions.