UltravioletPhotography

Introducing myself (from Finland)

aphalo

Hello!

I am very glad to join the group and I hope to be able to not only learn from other members, but also to contribute to the discussions. I have been a researcher in physiological plant ecology throughout my career, most of the time studying how plants use light as a source information about their environment. By this I mean for example, detecting the presence of "neighbours" by the light they reflect and triggering responses like stem elongation before they are shaded by these neighbours. I have studied the role of both UV and VIS radiation as sources of information and the mechanisms plants use to perceive UV and VIS cues and signals. As they are tasks frequently needed in this type of research I am very familiar with spectral measurements of solar and artificial light, and also with the measurement of optical properties of plants parts. We also frequently use optical filters and light sources in experiments. In recent years we have acquired for plant-related research four different array spectrometers, power LEDs, including even a couple of them emitting at 310 nm and 340 nm. Last year we had an Olympus OM-D EM-1 mirrorless camera modified to full-spectrum. I had been wanting to buy such a camera for years, but the price of the UV-Nikkor seemed too high to justify its purchase. Before buying the camera I read quite many posts at this site and Savazzi's web site and learnt about the "accidental" UV objectives. Both sites have been of great help. I am not new to photography and/or photography techniques, but I have been able to start taking UV images only about a year ago. On the other hand, photography has been my beloved hobby since childhood.