UltravioletPhotography

Narcissus

Andy Perrin

This is some kind of common narcissus. I'm not very good at nailing down the species, but I'll put it in here if someone tells me. The flower was a windfall, so I took it home and photographed it indoors where it couldn't blow around in the crazy winds we're having this month.

All the visible reference shots are with the iPhone 6S Plus. The lighting was sunshine, or sunshine with a Tuofeng UV torch. The camera was the NEX-7, the lens was the Novoflex Noflexar 35/3.5 in all cases. The filter was the 330WB80 described in the other thread, mounted behind the lens with poster putty.

Processing was with Photo Ninja and Photoshop. White balance was all in-camera off the pavement out my window (I had the window down, so the sunshine was not filtered though my window for these).

Vis reference:

post-94-0-31191500-1460834130.jpg

UV, sunshine, F/16, 25", ISO100

post-94-0-07327300-1460834190.jpg

UV, sunshine+torch, F/16, 20", ISO100

post-94-0-15096200-1460834251.jpg

Vis reference for closeup:

post-94-0-04763000-1460834307.jpg

UV, sunshine, F/16, 20", ISO100

post-94-0-94977100-1460834346.jpg

UV, sunshine+torch, F/16, 25", ISO100

post-94-0-93372000-1460835339.jpg

(Edit: screwed up the last pic, posting the same one twice by accident. Fixed now.)

Nice work, Andy. You've gotten lots of the delightful textures brought out by UV light.

I don't know what this particular species is. There are literally thousands of species and cultivars in this genus, so unless someone is thoughtful enough to hand us a plant tag with our spring flowers, we just have to let it go with a generic "Narcissus sp." label. :D

Are you finding the Noflexar useful for close-up work? Did you get the hang of the extension? Scared me that I was going to break that lens the first time I pulled on it.