UltravioletPhotography

Hello from France!

DonPilou

Good morning everyone!

I have spent the last 48h reading all the articles of this website, so I think it is time for me to introduce myself.

I am a French photographer living in Paris, who worked first as an optical engineer in sensor field during 4 years.

I am in love with sensors and the possibilities to capture invisible light. I started with infrared photography 3 years ago, and for 1 year now I am part of a group dedicated to infrared photography, publishing free tutorials, videos and interviews in our website (in french...) : http://infrarouge.photo/

In addition, I started reading about ultraviolet photography, which appears to be more difficult to realize than infrared photography. So I am looking for a lot of informations to realize principally ultraviolet portraits in reflectance (showing all the skin defaults).

Concerning my gear, I use a Canon 6D full-spectrum with Heliopan infrared filters, and I have just bought a Hoya U340 and a Hoya C-500 (made with BG39 glass) for ultraviolet photography. I made my first tests with the Hoya U340 and a Vivitar 135 F/2.8 which appears to not being a good lens for UV photography (even if I am still waiting for the Hoya C-500 to cut IR). So I am now waiting for the Revue 135 F/3.5 ordered 2 hours ago ;) that seems to be good at transmitting UV, as I have red in this website. If the results with the Revue lens + U340 + C-500 is good, I will buy a luvu 2 uv-pass filter to replace the two Hoya filters.

So at the moment I think I am more capable of giving advices in infrared photography, and I will post UV shots as soon as I can.

You can find some examples of my infrared shots here, here and here.

Thanks again for all the information I have found here!

PL

Andy Perrin
Gorgeous infrared photos! (I love that it is "infrarouge" in French -- it sounds classier to my American ears.)