UltravioletPhotography

NAI UV Photography

JimpyL

I’m new here and feel totally out of my depth in ultra violet photography. Apologies that I haven't posted in the 'Introduce Yourself' first.

I’m a clinical photographer and I am currently researching the use of UV photography to help document ‘Non Accidental Injuries’, mainly in young children, which mostly involves bruises.

I started looking into using infrared photography but soon found it had its limits, when it comes to the formation and depth of bruises. Sometimes we are photographing an area where the bruise is yet to fully form or some time has passed and the bruise has almost faded away. UV photography seems to be the way to go but I’m having trouble putting together some cost estimates for a business case that is required from where I work.

We can only use digital cameras and have a few choices in converting one which seems to be around £250-300. The problem I am having and seem to be going round in circles is the use of flash, lighting, filters and lenses!

The problems I see with UV photography in young children, is that we can’t use tripods (to be able to set focus) as the subjects will often not want to sit or lay still. The areas being photographed are sometimes difficult enough to capture with a normal hand held flash! I’ve read conflicting articles about the use of lighting kits; some have even mentioned the risk of UV exposure.

I realise this might be a bit of dead end with but can anyone recommend a set up that will fall under the following restrictions?

• Utilise a converted digital SLR

• Not use a tripod

• Not involve any health risks

Thanks!

James

Hello James and welcome to UVP.

You are doing some important work forensically and we will certainly try to help you. I also suggest you consult any forensics sites which may be online. I'm sorry that I don't have any specific recommendations there, but forensic questions don't come our way often.