UltravioletPhotography

Hello from Silicon Valley

lost cat

Hello all,

I'm new to ultraviolet photography. I became interested in the topic when I saw a commercial for Nivia sunscreen ala' Thomas Leveritt's "How the Sun Sees You". It happened I was trying to convince my kindergarten age son to allow me to put sunscreen on him when the ad came on - very timely! By coincidence I happened to be given a pair of Nikon D40 a couple of weeks later when both my siblings upgraded to newer Nikons. I was happy to find the D40 is one of the few cameras useable for UV work without modification.

Thanks to this and other UV/IR photography websites and Ebay I am now the proud owner of a small collection of UV capable lenses:

2 El Nikkor 105mm

3 El-Nikkor 80mm

2 El Nikkor 75mm

3 El Nikkor 50mm

2 Soligor 35mm f3.5 wide

1 Super Lentar 35mm f/3.5

I also acquired a Panasonic G5 with the 14-42 lens after seeing the lifepixel tutorial on removing the sensor filter from a G3 but I have yet to perform this modification.

As far as my photography expertise goes I'm an amateur. My main camera is an unmodified Canon T5i so I have been spoiled by the automatic features.

I currently I have the D40s set up for 3D portraits - why not? I used a standard 3" door hinge to vertically mount both cameras and used a pair of standard 1/4" x 20 flathead screws to mount the camers to the hinge. The hinge is sized perfectly as a mount for these cameras! This both places the optical paths at an appropriate interocular separation and allows me to converge the cameras on the subject. A standard 4 1/2" 1/4" 20 bolt threaded into a stacked pair of coupling nuts which allows the hinge to bolt to the tripod and to put tension on the hinge. Its a bit rickety but it works.