UltravioletPhotography

UV through glass

Lee Kelly

I am very new to this UV world and really excited to try some thing, which I will post soon.

I am waiting for a lens and a camera to be modified but in the meantime maybe someone can answer a quick question?

If I was photographing a flower or similar, through glass or a window or similar, will this lessen the effect of UV light reflecting off my subject to the lens? My limited understanding is that a significant amount of UV light will be blocked by glass. Are there specific types of glass that is available to everyday people that will allow this reflected UV light through?

I wanted to try something that involves shooting through glass, but not sure itll work.

What about mirrors? Does this enhance the UV or reduce it?

All glass is different, although any glass with visible tinting will probably block UV heavily. With glass that is not chosen for optical performance (e.g. bottles or windowpanes) it is something of a crap shoot--I have seen beverage bottles that transmitted down to 320nm, and window glass that did not transmit much below 360. Just try it and see. Thin glass, all other things being equal, will be better than thick glass.

With mirrors, first-surface mirrors and polished metal mirrors generally perform excellently. Second-surface mirrors are as good as the glass substrate, which light must traverse twice: once inbound and again outbound. Again, just try it.

In my neck of the woods we use double glazing and there is not much UV that pass through. Compared to the outside, less than 1/10 of the UV registers inside. Plus there is even more efficient attentuation of the shorter wavelengths, so you get a skewed balance as well.

Indoor UV is the domain of UV flash only.

Lee,